Washington D.C.

Washington D.C. is a federal district in the United States and the location of the United States’ capital.  The city is located in the District of Columbia (the source of the D.C.) and was approved by the U.S. Congress in 1790 with construction beginning a year later.  Washington D.C. is named in honor of George Washington and was preceded as the United States’ capital by several cities including Philadelphia, New York, and Baltimore.  During the War of 1812 the British captured the city and burned several government buildings before withdrawing.  The following renovation allowed for many improvements and additional stylistic upgrades to be added to the damaged buildings.

The single largest employer in Washington D.C. is the federal government.  International organizations and embassies also employ a large number of district residents.  Tourism is the second largest industry in the district with millions of visitors coming to the city annually; the National Mall, a section of the city which includes many of the capital parks, is one of the prime attractions.

Washington D.C. is under the jurisdiction of the United States Congress, which enacts legislation for the city and surrounding district.  The district has three electoral votes for Presidential elections but no voting representation in Congress.  A mayor and city council oversee the daily affairs of Washington D.C. and are popularly elected by the residents.

© San Juan Web, Inc. 2024 | Hosted at Orcas Web